CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 10-22-2015, 01:30 PM   #1
Kyle Hougendobler

Profile:
Does my employer have the right to...

Tell me I'm not allowed to tell the members I'm leaving the gym? He said I'm not allowed to tell the members until my final week.

I don't think this is fair and I have been working there for 5 years and most people stay because I'm the coach and every negative review our gym has is because of our owner.

Anyways, I've told quit a few people and a few have already turned their cancellations in. That's not my fault or my problem.

Any guidance would be awesome. Thank you
Old 10-22-2015, 03:31 PM   #2
Sean J Hunter

Profile:
Re: Does my employer have the right to...

There are all kinds of variables here, contract, state law, etc.

However, my first take is, this is this guys business, if he asks you to shut your mouth until your last week, you shut your mouth. However, I'm a business owner so I'm biased.

Secondly, what's your contract and state law say? Doing something you where asked not to do, that causes damages could make you liable. In most common law jurisdictions its not particularly prosecutable, but in some you can be held accountable.

Lastly, what do you benefit from telling the members.

More details.
Old 10-22-2015, 04:11 PM   #3
Kyle Hougendobler

Profile:

Sean,

Thank you for the feedback. I am leaving the gym to take on a corporate job. I'm not even opening a gym or coaching anywhere else. I'm also leaving because this guy has caused so much hell in my life, my health is severely at risk.