CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Digital Coaching
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Digital Coaching Post pictures or movies for critique and coaching

Old 07-17-2012, 05:06 PM   #1
Jason Hogue

Profile:
lower back issue in heavy deadlifts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=syib6...&feature=g-upl
WFS

I have been crossfitting for a few years but seem to have not fixed a weakness in my lower back. My coach is not sure what to do to fix this issue. My upper back stays strong and extended all the way through the lift, but my lower back has increasing arch as weight and reps increase. I stay tight in OLY and power lifting because of the lower weights, but the issue seems to resent itself as I get heavy and increase the reps. The effort posted is 3 reps at 315#. I have pulled 5 reps at 335, but this issue is always there. My 1RM is 375, but I wasn't being coachd at the time I pulled it. I do not ever have any alarming pain, but this problem bothers my coach and I want to fix it to avoid getting hurt or stunting progress. Any advice or help would be great. I have wondered if wearing a belt, doing RDLs or good mornings, or anything else might help. Thanks in advance.
Old 07-17-2012, 07:39 PM   #2
Robert Fabsik

Profile:
Re: lower back issue in heavy deadlifts

First, you are going to give Eric S a heart attack--don't drop the bar, demonstrate control see:

http://www.board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=76624 (WFS)

I think you are shooting your hips too fast and need to press your feet into the ground more then let the hips drive up. In the squat I think hips first then knees, in the deadlift I think the knees should move more first then the hips follow soon after.

Also, I feel you are too far over the bar at the start. Get as much of you upper body/shoulders behind the bar so you have all that weight to help counterbalance the weight on the bar.
Old 07-17-2012, 07:46 PM   #3