CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Digital Coaching
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Digital Coaching Post pictures or movies for critique and coaching

Old 08-14-2006, 10:40 AM   #1
Kent Lamm

Profile:
I've been doing xfit for about 3 months or so now and I decided to try my first heavy clean and jerks yesterday. If someone could critique my C&J and tell me what I need to work on, it would be much appreciated! Video has a front view, and 2 side views in normal speed and then slo-mo.

http://www.yousendit.com/transfer.php?action=download&ufid=8E4952C0792E05A4 &rcpt =kent.ogp@gmail.com
Old 08-14-2006, 08:58 PM   #2
Brian Sullivan

Profile:
I'm sure others will chime in but here are some comments to get you started. "Big chest" during the clean - shoulders back, chest out. Pretty good getting the bar up to the knees, then small early arm bend - Your arms should be straight until you have reached triple extension. (easier said than done though). You should receive the bar in the rack position on your shoulders with your elbows up HIGH (basically pointing forwards). This is important because if you squat clean a heavy weight and your elbows are down, your elbows might hit your knees on the way down and if this happens you could seriously injure your wrists. And, with a heavy weight, it will be much harder to stand up if the weight is not on your shoulders. I think your hips are a little forward when you catch your clean. The Jerk: Don't come up onto your toes on the "down" part of the jerk You should split you legs more in the jerk. In particular, you back leg needs to move back more.