CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 01-19-2008, 08:25 AM   #1
Larry Wright

Profile:
Post workout nutrition for a big guy?

I am a beginner. I follow the Zone and I am learning the fundamentals of Crossfit. What is a good post workout meal, when should I eat it, and what is the basic science behind it. I am 6'2 about 345-350 lbs my goal is wieght loss and improved physical fitness.
Old 01-21-2008, 03:25 PM   #2
Larry Wright

Profile:
Re: Post workout nutrition for a big guy?

Can anybody throw me a bone? By science I mean purpose. What is it doing for me exactly?
Old 01-21-2008, 04:57 PM   #3
David Wallach

Profile:

Hi Larry,

I started my journey at 316lbs at 5'11" and about 42% bf. I am at 230 right now at about 12%bf. Faster, stronger and happier than ever. I know the drill.

PWO nutrition a la classic bodybuilding is basic horsesh*t that was based on some evidense that if the body was in supraglycogen depletion that the insulin spike from tossing back a combo of dextrose/maltodextrin and protein imediately post effort, with zero fat, would cause some magical increase in protein synthesis, so multitudes of athletes were mixing glucose polymers, waxy maize and cold filtered whey isolates while still on the gym floor or worse yet, in the locker room.

Have you ever seen this? People mixing their meal in a room of sweaty naked guys. Um... I'll pass.

If you goal is performance enhancement and FAT loss, then please, within 30-60 minutes post effort, eat. Just eat. Make sure its zone ratio friendly and if you are crushing your workout efforts, make it a meal rather than a snack and leave it at that.