CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 12-22-2005, 09:11 PM   #1
Ryan Molofy

Profile:  
Hey all,

I'm relatively new to CF, so I might as well introduce myself before I get on to my question. I'm a 20 year old Albertan boy, and I've been physically fit for my whole life, and I've been involved in a variety of sports such as hockey, lacrosse, rugby, karate, and wrestling. I have been lifting weights since I was 14 and have followed mostly a bodybuilding style of working out, except for a powerlifting cycle I did a few months back. I've just discovered CrossFit recently, and it is much better than anything I've ever done for fitness -- I'm glad I found it young.

Anyway, my inquiry is regarding warm-ups and cool-downs. For the warm-ups, I am aware what the "official" CrossFit workout is. Is this done with a relaxed tempo? How long does everyone find it takes to do the full warm-up? It almost looks like an entire workout to me, not that it looks tough to accomplish.

Regardless, my real question is about cooling down after workouts. I have finished the last few workouts feeling great (as in “I survived”, not “that was easy”);however, in the next half hour after the workouts, I have gotten really nauseous to the point where I have almost puked. I really think that this is due to not having a proper cool-down.

Any suggestions? I would like to hear what some of you do for post-workout cooling down, other than leaving a giant sweat stain on the floor. }
Old 12-23-2005, 02:07 AM   #2
Michael Ernest Estrada

Profile:
I have joined the crossfit family. i am a brazilian jiu-jitsu purple belt and crossfit has helped me on the mat for strenght and conditioning. I love it.
Old 12-23-2005, 03:25 AM   #3
Don Stevenson

Profile: