CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 03-03-2005, 04:34 PM   #1
Manuel Ruiz

Profile:
Hello people. I have a question on deadlifts. I tend to hit the knees on the way down. From what I can remember I'm fine coming up. Just when I come down I hit the top of thigh/knee area. It's not on every lift and it's something I can live with(as long as we don't do these everyday). But I am concerned with proper form being affected. What am I doing wrong??
Old 03-03-2005, 05:38 PM   #2
Lynne Pitts

Profile:
Moving to Exercises...
Old 03-03-2005, 06:20 PM   #3
Mike Ryan

Profile:
A lot of people complain about hiting their shins. I am with you Manuel, I often hit my knee on the way down. I am no expert on deadlifts, but I try to reverse the motion on the way down. When you lift, the last thing to happen is the straighteing of the back and the shrug of the shoulders. So, on the way down, I bend slightly at the waist first to get the correct angle and then let the bar down with my legs, trying to stay on the heels. If I do this, I miss the knees. I am not sure this is technically correct, but it works for me

I am sure others will have good advice to offer that both of us can use.

Mike.
Old 03-03-2005, 06:27 PM   #4
chris muscarella

Profile:

Many people hit their knees when they try to let the bar down too slowly. The deadlift negative is a controlled drop. The reason you don't lower it slowly is that it pulls you forward and can be murder on your back at heavy poundages. The line of pull in a deadlift is not directly up, but actually at a slight angle backwards. Reversing this leaves the knees vulnerable.