CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 12-22-2007, 04:53 PM   #1
Zach Mitchell

Profile:
Intermittent Fasting HELP

I have gotten control of my eating habits for most of 4 days starting on Wednesday December 19th. I am very new to CrossFit and haven't starting any WODs yet, however, a good friend is organizing his equipment and we should have a place to work out before New Years (a little longer than expected). I wanted to start early with the nutrition as that will be my biggest struggle. I might be biting off more than I can chew, but I even threw in Intermittent Fasting.

Wednesday I fasted for 15 hrs, Thursday for 12 hours, and Friday for 24 hours. I didn't feel weak, but I was definately hungry. The most important thing I noticed while fasting was that I DID NOT CRAVE. There was a physical hunger that was painful at times, however there was not that emotional/mental need to eat (my biggest enemy). Art de Vany ended a post of his with "...change your relationship with food." After years of trying conventional diets and exercise, I stumbled upon CrossFit, Paleo, Zone, Art de Vany, the list goes on. These resources have been the driving force in my desire to gain control of my health and fitness.

I was shopping today for Christmas, and I saw pastries and deserts and fast food and yada, yada. But I saw in a different light. I saw it as disgusting, detrimental, degenerative disease ridden and just plain not appetizing. I can't help but feel sorry for anyone who hasn't found CF or is conciously being ignorant to the thought.

I ate just now for the first time in 24 hours -- 10 stalks of asparagus, 4 eggs, and 3 slices of ham -- all organic, grass fed.