CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 07-06-2007, 08:40 PM   #1
Tom Ellison

Profile:
Hey guys, the last couple weeks I've been toying with the idea of trying to get my strength up so I have the "engine" for the WODs (ala "Diane" - 225# DLs for 21-15-9). I've toyed with doing a 3x per week Starting Strength type thing, or adding one lift every day before the WOD, or doing an ME Black box style thing. So I have two questions. First, should I even do this? My CFT is in the mid 600s, I've been doing CF for about 7 months, but doing pretty intense training for several years. So if I just stick to the WOD and/or add lift before the WOD on certain days, will I see the strength gains I want? And second, what scheme would be best (ME/BB, Starting Strength, etc.) Thanks all.
Old 07-06-2007, 08:52 PM   #2
Tom Ellison

Profile:
I should probably add that I'm 20 yrs old, 6 ft, 170-175#.
Old 07-06-2007, 11:00 PM   #3
Brandon Oto

Profile:
My Total is just a bit higher than yours and I've been CFing for just a bit longer. (I'm also 20, 6 ft, and 165 pounds. Are we twins?) I'm taking a month off to build strength as well.

I'm using the PM mass gain program. Use whatever you're interested in; as long as you're doing good functional stuff, the important factors seem to be eating enough, sleeping enough, and resting enough.
Old 07-07-2007, 06:33 AM   #4
Steven Low

Profile:
I would say yeah if you're having trouble completing workouts like Diane.
Old 07-07-2007, 09:37 AM   #5
John Seiler

Profile:
Tom,

I would be inclined to go with an ME/Black Box program. Starting Strength is great if you are, in fact, just starting. But if you want to keep the MetCon gains you've seen with CrossFit, SS won't cut it.