CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 10-02-2007, 11:31 AM   #1
Shanna Duvall

Profile:
Balancing carbs, protein, fats at meals...why??

The Meal Plans article from issue 21 does an excellent job of simplifying how to follow the zone, but what is the explanation for why we need to eat in such ratios? I feel as though I read something a couple of months ago when I was first looking into the zone, but I have been unable to figure out what it was or where.
I recently started training a couple of my friends and while they eat quite healthy in comparison to the average individual, I know they still need to increase their protein intake and eat more balanced meals. I gave them the Meal Plans article, but they are not currently interested in dealing with the counting of blocks and what not. (I completely understand, as I am currently not a true zoner myself. I guess I would say that I am a 50% zoner and just attempt to eat a fair balance when I'm not counting. That's a whole other story.) Anyhow, I have at least encouraged them to try to incorporate protein and fats along with the carbs at each meal. They want to know why...and I stumble over my basic understanding of the glycemic values of carbs, which release insulin and how protein has less of a hormonal response and fats have no hormonal response. From there, I have recently read about lipoprotein lipase which allows fat to be removed from fat tissue and how when insulin levels are increased LPL is inhibited and fat loss decreases or rather is ceased. I can only imagine the confusion at this point...please help!
Old 10-02-2007, 11:58 AM   #2
George Mounce

Profile:
Re: Balancing carbs, protein, fats at meals...why??

Nutrient absorption from all things is better when meals are balanced.