CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 06-04-2006, 06:16 AM   #1
Kevin King

Profile:
Hi all,

I am just getting started with CF and am loving it. Well... I love it most of the time. Anyway, I find myself very intimidated by the Oly lifts. I am in Iraq and certainly don't see anyone around here who does the lifts correctly. I am looking for a good resource for learning how to do these correctly. My biggest concern is doing them right so I don't hurt myself. While you're at it, any suggestions on CFitters in the Nashville area for further training and coaching when I get home?

Thanks!
Old 06-04-2006, 08:21 AM   #2
Lynne Pitts

Profile:
Hi Kevin,
Welcome. I'm moving this to Exercises-you'll find plenty of ideas for learning the o-lifts in that section. If you're in search of other CrossFitters, please post that query to the Community section.
Old 06-06-2006, 04:41 AM   #3
Steven Nedorolik

Profile:
Kevin,

where are you at in Iraq?

I'm by no means an expert but I'm always looking for people to suffer, I mean, work out, together.

lots of good stuff on here for figuring out the lifts when you have no access to training. the videos I've found here and on a few weightlifting sites really help.
Old 06-06-2006, 06:27 AM   #4
Yoon Sohn

Profile:
Hi Kevin,
On the subject of videos: in addition to the ones on the main CrossFit site, here are some more favorites of mine:
http://www.mikesgym.org/gallery/gallery.php
http://qwa.org/natrecvideo/CONTENT.ASP

Lincoln Brigham also posted some great vids at the end of this thread:
http://www.crossfit.com/discus/messages/3499/21796.html

I haven't gotten any for myself, but perhaps an instructional DVD would help in your situation:
http://www.crossfit.com/discus/messages/26/25026.html

Good luck!
Old 06-06-2006, 07:23 AM   #5

Profile: