CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 01-07-2010, 11:24 AM   #1
Carlos Armas

Profile:
Just started Zone'n - Thoughts so far + Seeking advice

Hey Everyone,

I have been Crossfitting for a little over 6 months and been doing about 85% Paleo for the last 3 months + frequent cheat meals (especially during travel). I recently signed up for the CF Games Sectionals so I am looking to take my training/nutrition to the next level! I am 6 feet tall and currently weigh about 194lbs at around 13% BodyFat. I started doing Zone yesterday with my own rendition of Paleo (+ Oatmeal/some Dairy). I am consuming 19 blocks a day. After my first day, my initial observation was how much damn carbs I got to consume! After doing Paleo for the last couple of months and restricting my grains, I now find it hard to consume 19 blocks of good carbs a day. I also find it to be such a pain in the *** to count/measure the blocks throughout the day (Paleo so much easier). I have been reading up on some of Robb Wolf's articles (including 42 Ways to Skin the Zone) and decided to cut off 4 blocks of carbs and replace it with 12 fat blocks. Therefore, my current block allocation is 19P/15C/31F. I am also trying to have about half the days worth of carbs post WOD (as suggested by Robb Wolf).

To be blunt, what I want out of my diet is to have the maximum amount of energy/strength for ultimate athletic performance. I want to get down to single digit bodyfat, gain strength, and just turn into a FREAK. I will be training hard 5-6 days a week with active rest (running) on rest days. Some days I will be doing two-a-days with strength/met-con training at different times. As I get closer to the March 27 Sectionals, I will obviously continue stepping up the intensity and frequency of training.