CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 07-15-2009, 01:12 AM   #1
Kyle Conway

Profile:
Just started looking for some advice

This is my second week of Cross Fit, and I love it so far. I am 26 years old, 6' tall, 191lbs, fairly weak. I have a belly and love handles. I was wandering if anyone can recommend a good diet to go on that is easy to stay on. It is tuff to stay on the diet I have 2 little girls and a wife, and the sweets that they love. I am just tired of having a belly, and lower energy. I would like to build my strength and energy for of my girls and me they are getting big, and it is harder to put them in their bunk bed. I love this program so far i have been doing a lot of reading on this site. O and i never realy worked out before so i am fairly new to weight lifting. Any advice let me know. Thank you.
Old 07-15-2009, 02:49 AM   #2
Andrew Durham

Profile:
Re: Just started looking for some advice

Kyle, it's very easy to stay on a diet. You just need to have the discipline to do it. I somewhat follow the Zone (CFJ Issue 21) diet. I'm 6' and started off at 202 back in January. I have been keeping up pretty with the WODs and am down to 183 now. I have put on quite a bit of muscle and have been tracking my strength gains. I posted this in the testimonials WFS. Just follow the WODs and try to stick with the recommended diet and you'll loose the belly and get a lot stronger. I hope you enjoy your new life with CF.
Old 07-15-2009, 03:47 AM   #3
Eric R Cohen

Profile:

For me, Paleo and Zone in particular seem a bit involved.
I just follow the mantra from the Level 1 cert.
In order...

Meat and Veggies
Nuts and seeds
Some fruit
Little starch
No sugar

Once I took this to heart, I dropped 5 lbs in about a month. (I was in decent shape, just trying to lose a bit).