CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 10-21-2008, 06:15 PM   #1
Jason Rambo

Profile:
If I can overhead press 122.5 lbs, how much can I push press?

Hello.

I am currently doing Starting Strength. Tomorrow's workout will feature the overhead press (military press?) at 122.5 pounds. I'm comfortable with that weight but the exercise is not as easy as it was starting out.

Coach Rippetoe has suggested adding one set of five push presses after the three work sets of overhead presses as an assistance exercise.

I would like to try this but I've never done any real push presses before. If I can handle 122.5 for three sets of five overhead, and bench press 185 for three sets of five, what's a realistic choice for a push press? Is there some kind of formula that people use, similar to the idea that your overhead press should be 65-70% of your bench?

Many thanks in advance.
Old 10-21-2008, 06:18 PM   #2
Anthony Bainbridge

Profile:
Re: If I can overhead press 122.5 lbs, how much can I push press?

Start with an empty bar. Do a set. Add 10-20 pounds. Do a set. Repeat until you find something comfortably heavy.
Old 10-21-2008, 06:27 PM   #3
Jason Lopez-Ota

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony Bainbridge View Post
Start with an empty bar. Do a set. Add 10-20 pounds. Do a set. Repeat until you find something comfortably heavy.
Agreed.

Also, awesome name Rambo.
Old 10-21-2008, 08:15 PM   #4
Justin McGinley

Profile:

If you just finished 3 x 5 x 122.5, you'd probably do well with another 20lbs or so, depending on how good you are at transferring hip drive into your push press strength.