CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 07-01-2008, 01:55 PM   #1
Jay Sneed

Profile:
Advice on achieving goals

I'm looking for some advice from experienced crossfitters who pretty much have everything dialed in. I've been crossfitting for about 2 years and average 3-4 metcons per week w/strength work. Im a 33yoa /m 5"9 160lb 29.5 waist about 6% bf. Diet is lean meats,veggies,fruits, nuts and healthy oils (olive,coconut). Caloric intake on workout days is around 1800-1900 calories (120g p 100g c 120g f) non workout days about 1600 cal. w/same macros. Performance is good but I would like to add some lean muscle and want to keep the bodyfat where it's at. I need to keep the metcons where they are due to my line of work, so dropping them isn't an option. Question is, how feasible is this and should I bump up the protein a bit.

Joe Waguespack, if you Gant or Wolf are out there I would be interested to get your opinion. Thanks.
Old 07-01-2008, 01:59 PM   #2
Laura Kurth

Profile:
Re: Advice on achieving goals

Not one of the experts, but I suggest upping protein and calories for sure.

If you are ok with dairy, whole milk might do the trick. Start with a quart a day. If no dairy, extra meat and nuts/oils.
Old 07-01-2008, 02:38 PM   #3
Andrew Wilson

Profile:

We actually talked about this & building lean mass today in my Sports Nutrition class & I mentioned Rip's recommendations to drink a gallon of milk- the Dr. said it was a great idea, especially with skim milk because of the less fat.
Old 07-01-2008, 04:48 PM   #4
Jay Sneed

Profile: