CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 11-27-2007, 07:08 AM   #1
Bill Ennis

Profile:
WOD Substitutions/Template Adherence

I have a question for everyone regarding WOD substitutions. I've been doing crossfit for about 8 months and currently have a nagging case of golfers elbow. I've been resting it and avoiding almost all pullups which aggravated it in the first place. Then we have a WOD like yesterday-weighted pullups. What I've done in the past if I needed to sub a WOD is just look for one that I like ; for example one with rowing. Yet I read the 2/03 Crossfit Journal about WOD templates and thought maybe I should try and stick closer to the template.
For example , weighted pullups looks like a pure gymnastics day (G) ; maybe also W for weightlifting . So , if I want to sub should I look for a WOD that looks like it matches it- a pure G day ?/ or a GW day depending on how you view it ?
Or am I making too big of a deal out of it ?
Any thoughts/ comments are appreciated.
Bill
Old 11-27-2007, 12:34 PM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
Re: WOD Substitutions/Template Adherence

I would say rest. You only get one body.

If I can't do a WOD because of an injury to a major joint I don't even try. Just find something else you can do with the non-injured parts of your body.

BTW, there's no really good subs that match weighted pullups except maybe weighted rows.. maybe iron cross or front lever. Except those are still all rough on your elbows.
Old 11-27-2007, 12:39 PM   #3
Frederic Giraud

Profile:

Steven would you consider weighted pullups a G day or a W day?

Even though it is a gymnastic move ( kind of), I felt like it would be more in the W category since its heavy weight

Thanks in advance
Old 11-27-2007, 04:21 PM   #4
Bill Scott

Profile: