CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-04-2009, 01:29 PM   #1
Matthew Gogel

Profile:
Strength Concerns

Hello again,
I'm new to CrossFit. I am formerly a wrestler who has kept pretty active since I stopped competing. However, over time the emphasis of my training has leaned slightly in favor of strength training over cardiovascular conditioning. I have always continued to do circuit training and sprints...however I've allowed myself to fall into a pattern where lifting takes priority and its hurt my cardio conditioning when I compare my endurance with my abilities when I was wrestling.

I starting crossfit to round myself out better and primarily to build my endurance and ability to work hard for extended periods of time. Going in I have pretty good strength and I'm concerned that I may lose some of it from migrating away from a more progression oriented approach to lifting weights. I am 170lbs...I bench about 350 lbs, I can do 6 pull ups with 90lbs of weight added and deadlift around 300 lbs.

Can I expect that my bench press and ability to do pull ups will continue to increase by doing the WOD on the main page? I'm sure my deadlifts should because I don't train those regularly now, but I'm concerned that I'll lose upper body strength.
Old 05-04-2009, 01:31 PM   #2
Jamie J. Skibicki

Profile:
Re: Strength Concerns

Pull ups shouldn't be a problem, bench will probably drop due to not a whole lot of benching.

Have you looked at CFSB? You can always add in some heavy benching to the mainsite WOD. Or do an ME black box. Or do CFFB.
Old 05-04-2009, 01:36 PM   #3
Jeff S Johnson

Profile: