CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 02-10-2011, 02:12 AM   #1
Preston Sprimont

Profile:
Crossfit for a skinny guy?

Hi all.

I'm fairly new to crossfit. I've read a lot and have been cramming my brain full of new techniques and theories (and I plan on continuing to read articles--I invested in the CF journal subscription) and I have been doing some (scaled) WODs from the mainsite for a short while now (rather inconsistently because of school and lack of a gym when I'm not at school). I'm also coming off of a back injury, so I'm taking it slow-ish.

Anyway, I'm 21 years old, about 6' and 160lb. Pretty low body fat, but a skinny build and a fast metabolism that make weight and strength gain a bit of a challenge. I started my fitness journey a few years ago at about 130lb, but after spending a summer lifting heavy and eating preposterous amounts of mostly clean food, I've gotten myself up to a healthier bodyweight--but I could still use some more. I've spent the past few years jumping around different training programs (tabata stuff, starting strength) and learning the basic lifts, but because of recurring injuries, travelling, and bad excuses I haven't stuck with anything long enough to see big results.

I stumbled across crossfit and I love what I've read so far... my understanding of fitness has been changed forever (no joke). So I want to follow crossfit to some extent, but I have the feeling that just doing the WODs won't increase my strength as much as I would like (considering the higher percentage of metcons). So I'm thinking of doing a crossfit/strength training fusion and I am looking for ideas.
I want more strength, more knowledge, more weight, more mobility, and more fitness. So any ideas that will help me reach these goals are more than welcome!