CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 12-04-2009, 10:43 AM   #1
Sam Glass Jr.

Profile:
What Was The Toughest...?

Hey, yet another nooB here...Actually BEYOND that, since I don't even start my first intro class at the local box until a week from today. I already know that my diet is utter crap, and that will be the next thing to take into consideration...after seeing if I can make it through my first 30 days of CF first! I'm not even THINKING of going Paleo until I reach that milestone. But just to get a feel for what it's going to be like, can anybody tell me what the toughest thing was for you to give up while doing Paleo?

I would say a good 40-50% of my current diet comes from grains and dairy. I supplement my "three squares" a day with protein shakes as snacks as much as possible, and I cannot tolerate those without using lowfat or fat-free milk as a mixer. I have yet to find the brand of powder that doesn't taste like @$$ and library paste mixed together if you only use water. And I always use vanilla fat-free yogurt as a standby, mixed with frozen blueberries and sliced almonds as a substitute.

But GRAINS are my main weakness. I am a "self-identified BREAD-a-holic" and a pastry addict...who also BAKES. (Bad combo). It's dangerous for me to go too long without eating, because I will sit down and polish off four slices of 12-grain or flax-and-whole wheat bread, slathered with all-natural peanut butter and apple butter without even thinking about it, downing that with an "economy-sized" bucket of coffee, creamer and Truvia.

Not looking forward to the day I have to surrender all of that, but hopefully I can do it with some solid support from other members of "BREAD-a-holics Not-So-Anonymous." Any of my peeps out there?
Old 12-04-2009, 10:49 AM   #2