CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 09-15-2005, 11:08 AM   #1
Sam Graves

Profile:  
Hi all,

This is my first post and I just like to say what a top site this is. Great work. I would also point out that I am no expert in fitness but I hope this post makes sense.

Anyway I love keeping fit and to keep things interesting I set myself challenges like climb Britain's three highest peaks in 24 hours etc.

My latest crazy (well for me anyway) challenge is to complete 100 press ups followed by 30 pull ups non-stop with no rest between. BTW I am 195lbs and 6ft2. This is not a new challenge for me... a few months back I did 97 followed by 23... but I must confess the 97 didn't follow decent press up form.... Anyway... I was very close to my goal... I trained using 4 sets of 20 press ups and 4 sets of 8 pulls ups. This increased to over 4x40 and 4x12 before my 97/23 test. I continued to train on this basic rep/set scheme but then I injuried my shoulder :-( through over training.

When I recovered from my injury I decided to work towards my 100/30 goal again. I tested myself.. I got 60/15. Before training again I searched the web for various routines etc. I looked at the "Hit the Deck" program but decided against it as I didnt want to overstress my shoulder too soon - it was doing the press ups most days that originally did it. I eventually came across: http://forum.dragondoor.com/training/message/70795/

Point 1 - I did wonder whether this was aimed at more high tension/strength-endurance (heavy weight work, pull ups, dips, etc.) than medium strength-endurance (like press ups, bodyweight squats, etc.). I was fairly confident that my pull ups would improve but was not sure about the push ups. But anyway I would give the program a shot.