CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 07-19-2004, 07:58 PM   #1
Shaad

Profile:  
Hi everyone,

I am a pro MMA fighter.. I am directing this question to anyone that has had to balance Xfit with their skill training for sport. In my sport at my level (not the highest nor the lowest) there is no real off season. We normally have 4 weeks notice on fights.

Does anyone have any tips on doing crossfit for s&c while doing inseason workouts and not burning out? Ideally you dont want your s&c stuff to conflict and negatively impact your sparring or skill training. Where do we find the balance? Is it simply a matter of good calories? Listening to the body? I know that in the final 2-3 weeks, skill and sparring definitely takes precedence.

**I will add that I am definitely not a newbie to training or competing, but that I am still looking for tips on doing both. Last time I tried I ran myself into the ground.

C
Old 07-19-2004, 09:04 PM   #2
Jason Horton

Profile:

are you shad smith? i was just guessing by your screen name.
Old 07-19-2004, 10:18 PM   #3
Shaad

Profile:  
Nope, but I'd like to fight Crazy Horse one day... Shaady is my real first name (hence my nick), most just call me Chad.

C
Old 07-20-2004, 07:34 AM   #4
Jason Horton

Profile:

cool. keep me posted on your fights!
Old 07-20-2004, 07:52 AM   #5
Matt Toupalik

Profile:
I'm currently training for amateur boxing but won't begin actual sparring and competition until this Fall.