CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 09-23-2013, 10:08 AM   #1
Eric Preston

Profile:
HELP! How to get bigger as ectomorph!!!

Hey guys! (and gals)

So, let me lay it out... I think I'm an ectomorph. I'd like to pack on more muscle, but without going through the bulk/cut stage. I want to simply add lean muscle mass and I'm not sure the best way to do it.

About me:

6'1", 160#, narrow shoulders (I wear a 38R), "bird" chest (I'd like to change this if possible)

I've been doing crossfit for just over 5 months. I began going 5 days a week, which I cut back to 3 (occasionally 4) in order to incorporate rest days. However, I'm currently considering ramping up to a consistent 4 days a week with the occasional 5.

Diet (in order throughout a typical workout day):
1. protein shake (1/2 scoop casein + 1/2 scoop whey)
2. sandwich (3oz turkey, 3oz chicken, 2 slices whole wheat bread, lettuce) + fruit or veg (grapes/apples or carrots)
3. protein shake (1/2 scoop casein + 1/2 scoop whey + 5mg creatine)
WORKOUT (occasional caffeine/BCAA/water drink during workout)
4. protein shake (1 scoop whey)
5. protein (steak, chicken, or pork), salad (light dressing), glass of red wine, sometimes a starch (I prefer sweet potatoes)
6. protein shake (1 scoop casein)

I've been doing this routine for almost 5 months now... I've gotten fairly shredded and I'm definitely in the best shape of my life. Do you think I've reached the max my body will allow? I want to continue to progress... I want to "fill out" more. Suggestions?
Old 09-23-2013, 10:16 AM   #2
Jeff Enge

Profile:
Re: HELP! How to get bigger as ectomorph!!!

No, 160 lbs is not the most your body will allow, guaranteed. It might be where your body is comfortable at at the moment, but you can change that.