CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Digital Coaching
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Digital Coaching Post pictures or movies for critique and coaching

Old 01-03-2012, 08:23 PM   #1
Aaron Heredia

Profile:
Cleans form check please! :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F1v23Sk0GPY

Hello, looking form some advice/critiques on my cleans. I'm relatively new to CrossFit and Oly lifts but have been lifting for a few years and maybe 4 months ago I discovered and fell in love with CrossFit, anyway, really trying to get better at cleans/clean and jerk and snatches. Any advice would be well appreciated, the weight is 135lbs and I'm about 6' 3" and 178. Thanks!
Old 01-03-2012, 09:09 PM   #2
Joey Burr

Profile:
Re: Cleans form check please! :)

Aaron,
Good job on finding Crossfit and giving it a go... you won't be disappointed with it haha.

As for your Clean, from the angle that you have it at I can give the following advice:
- Drop your hips a tad bit before your first pull.
- You seem to be pulling with your arms before you transition to the second phase. You have a nice triple extension however.
- You are catching the weight pretty high, try to catch it lower... remember you only have to pull the bar up to your navel and then drop fast under it. You are catching it in a power position instead of a squat position.

Next time add a side video too! Oly lifts are hard to judge from the front view.
Old 01-03-2012, 10:19 PM   #3
Aaron Heredia

Profile:

Thanks! I realized after I took the video that a side angle would have been beneficial but I was pretty burnt after those two sets, I had done a few already at lighter weights as well as a decent amount of front squats. Thanks tho for the advice that all makes sense and hopefully sooner than later I'll get a side view on here as well with some improvements!
Old 01-04-2012, 01:25 AM   #4
Richard Colon

Profile: