CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 11-05-2008, 07:05 AM   #1
Amanda Jane

Profile:
Post Crossfit & Rollerderby

Hi Guys,

I am very new to the whole Crossfit training idea (I.e I just discovered the site on Monday!) so I know that I really need to read up and dig deeper to get to know how I should go about it.

I play rollerderby with the Glasgow Roller Girls (Scotland) and I just had a few questions relating to Crossfit and how it can slot in with my sport.... sorry if these are no brainers - but before playing Rollerderby I did no excersise at all so I dont have any fitness background knowledge to fall back on,

Ok, so here goes:

1) I tried a CF workout last night at the gym instead of my regular workout, it was lots of squats with weights (we do squats all the time at derby training but never with weights) and some back extensions. Today my thighs are KILLING me - which is an eye opener as I thought I had thighs of steel from 18months derby training! The question is - I stupidly did that workout last night and now have sore thighs when I have to go to a 2 hour derby session tonight - is this bad for my legs? (Sounds stupid, but I am a blocker in derby which means I am constanly skating in a near squat position whilst applying full contact body blows to my opponents... its pretty tough on the old thighs, so am I damaging them by not giving them a chance to recover?) Would I have to modify what CF workouts I do on certain days so they wont clash with my derby training/bouts?