CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 09-27-2010, 10:10 AM   #1
Michael Wengloski

Profile:
GHDs can change your life

Apologize ahead of time for me feeling sorry for myself, I will try to keep this very short.

I am in the Navy and was stationed in San Diego. Aboslutely loved it there. I had been crossfitting for about 2-3 years and in good shape. I decided to take a shot at the dive community.

About one week before my report date to dive prep the workout came up, 3 rounds for time, 10 45# DB thrusters, 30 GHD sit ups. I was slightly worried about the GHDs but had done them before, not in this volume. My girlfriend in attendance I decided to go for the WOD RX'd.

One day passes and i'm fine, day two hits and wow... I have never been this sore in my life. My entire core was so intensely sore that sitting back in a chair hurt. This would be the case for a full week and i was still slightly sore for just over two.

Long story short I show up to dive and when it comes time to do sit ups for our physical test I get to about 25 and my abs give out, i cannot do another sit up. I fail test one and have one week before test two. If i fail test two I am done. Test two comes, i get 28 and can't get up for another. I'm done.

My girlfriend of almost a year, car, household goods are all still in San Diego and before I can even talk to someone I have a new set of orders to Jacksonville, NC. I am currently finishing up a school here and will be staying here for the next two years. I still have not been able to get my car or household goods. I have to fly back on my dime to get them. Oh and while i'm there I get to say bye to my girlfriend.

Careful with GHDs.
Old 09-27-2010, 10:17 AM   #2
Stu Christensen

Profile:
Re: GHDs can change your life

One word....

Scale.