CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 12-12-2013, 07:10 AM   #1
Ron Reed

Profile:
Hip pain after running on treadmill

Hi all, I'm new to Crossfit, 2 months in, I ran on a treadmill for the first time in a long time yesterday and then spent 8 hours sitting in a car at work last night. i woke up today with my outer hips just screaming, which I'm guessing is tight hip flexors. We have a few posters up at my box that show some mobility work but it's never really been taught in class. Has anyone read or used the book Supple Leopard by Kelly Starret. I am 38 years old and find that most of my limitations so far have been mobility issues. I appreciate any feedback about that book. Is it worth the $30 price tag.

Last edited by Ron Reed : 12-12-2013 at 07:21 AM. Reason: wrong title
Old 12-12-2013, 07:55 AM   #2
Mark E. Wallace

Profile:
Re: Anyone read Supple Leopard?

I haven't read it, but I have looked through it briefly and liked what I saw. It's the usual typical high-quality stuff from Kelly Starrett. The book is expensive, but (assuming that you need what it provides) I'm sure it's worth it.

- Mark
Old 12-12-2013, 08:32 AM   #3
Patrick Rushbrook

Profile:

I have it. It helped tremendously not only with mobility stuff, but gave me some good cues in correcting my form on squat, deads, cleans, press..etc. It's great. Well worth the money.
Old 12-12-2013, 09:46 AM   #4
John Herbold

Profile: