CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 06-02-2011, 04:26 PM   #1
Valarie Wright

Profile:
Meat + how many X a day

Im new to both Paleo and meateating (18 days Paleo, been a Vegan for about 30 years).

So how often does one eat meat?

I knew that would look as silly as it sounded, but I am curious. Mostly because I dont want to overdo it, and because I dont know what that would be, thought it best to get some ideas.

Right now Im eating meat at three meals. Today, for example, I cooked up a pound of sausage. I had 1/2 cup for breakfast with 2 hardboiled eggs, then a 1/2 cup for second breakfast in a salad. I will probably finish the rest for dinner .. not sure yet.

Im a true grazer when it comes to eating, so whatever strikes my as looking good when I get hungry is what I will eat.
Old 06-02-2011, 04:29 PM   #2
Eric Montgomery

Profile:
Re: Meat + how many X a day

A good general rule is to have a fist-sized serving of dense protein with every meal, 3-4 times a day. That protein source can be meat, eggs, fish, shrimp, chicken, whatever. Then add in as many vegetables as you can handle, some fruit, and good fats with every meal.
Old 06-02-2011, 04:32 PM   #3
Valarie Wright

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Montgomery View Post
A good general rule is to have a fist-sized serving of dense protein with every meal, 3-4 times a day. That protein source can be meat, eggs, fish, shrimp, chicken, whatever. Then add in as many vegetables as you can handle, some fruit, and good fats with every meal.
Ok .. great. Thank you Eric. That makes sense. I already eat loads of fresh (mostly local and/or organic) fruits and veggies, just wasnt clear on the meat portion. I appreciate it!
Old 06-02-2011, 10:48 PM   #4
Steven Chicoine

Profile: