CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 03-06-2007, 08:15 PM   #1
Matt Meeuwsen

Profile:
Allow me to introduce myself:

I am an almost 30 something LEO who has fallen off the workout wagon since the birth of my daughter. I am an instructor in the areas of combat for law enforcement; including firearms and defensive tactics. After much reading and training other LEO's, I believe I have developed a warrior's mindset. However, I lack the physical attributes needed to survive the most dangerous of encounters. This quest has brought me here.

I had good success with Body For Life, but want more. I have read many threads/posts, the intro guides and the beginners workout, but still seek guidance. Here are my questions:

1. What do you use as a daily pre-workout warm-up? (I saw what is listed in the FAQ's)

2. What is the proper way to "scale down" the WOD? Or, what rotating workout might you use, understanding that a "routine" can be restrictive?

3. Is there a specific cool-down routine you use?

4. Any tips from those using the Zone dietary plan? I am just starting it.

I am highly motivated now with the addition of my daughter and wanting to make certain I return home at the end of my shift. I have limited space in my house and am planning and purchasing equipment to create a gym in my garage. Any and all feedback will be read and greatly appreciated. I will post ASAP if you have any specific questions for me. I look forward to reading your advice. Thanks for your assistance.
Old 03-06-2007, 08:29 PM   #2
Jeff Martin

Profile:
Matt,
1. Start slowly.
2. Learn the movements

We post scaled WOD's from the mainpage here and answer questions for new people:
http://forum.brandxmartialarts.com/viewforum.php?f=16

Another great site for new people is:
www.crossfitfoundations.typepad.com