CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 11-04-2006, 01:36 PM   #1
Joe Cloutier

Profile:
I am currently halfway through an 8-week powerlifting style program aimed towards setting new PR's on all my lifts. Now, I'm no competitive lifter, I'm just a regular college student (18 years old) willing to get stronger than the general population. My main concern right now is my diet.

At the beginning of the program I commited to following a strict diet, getting in a ton of proteins with each meal and eating ample amounts of good fats with carbs only in the workout shake and in the first solid meal after a training session. My lifts actually regressed for that week and I was lifting less than I was before starting the program. For example, I failed to pull a DL 1RM that I would usually get for 2-3 easy reps. I also lost 1-2 lbs of bodyweight during this first week on the program.

Now I quickly assesed that the problem must have been my nutrition, so I tweaked it a lot and changed it into something I know works for me. I now find myself eating a ton of carbs, medium proteins and low fats. Probably something like 60/30/10 C/P/F, but that's a very rough approximation. Carbs could be anywhere from 50 to 70 since I can't be bothered to weigh what I eat and actually count it. Thing is, this goes against most of the stuff I have read about nutrition.