CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 01-15-2006, 02:18 PM   #1
Neil Khant

Profile:
Ok, I am new to crossfit. I was introduced to it though the article in Men's Journal. I had been a very athletic person a few years ago. I haven't done anything for quite a while. I did the first workout, taking the advice on this forum, and took it easy. I will increase intensity as I feel more comfortable.

Question is: What are the feeling with the workouts laid out in the Men's Journal article. Are there better to start with or are these decent for a beginner.

I feel good to have started up again. I am 35, Many years ago I used to be a competitive gymnast, diver, and wrestler. These days I spend my time at a desk job and chasing my kids.

Thanks for any input.
Old 01-15-2006, 03:04 PM   #2
Tom Brose

Profile:
Neil, welcome to CrossFit. first thing I would reccommend is to read everything in the "getting Started" and "FAQ" sections, located on the left on the main page, as well as the free download of CrossFit Journal.

That will save you from asking a lot of questions, and constantly getting refferred back to those resources. The workouts in mens journal are scaled down versions of some Crossfit standards, and definitly will give you a tast of whats going on.

Welcome to the board, best free resource you will ever find.
Old 01-15-2006, 05:25 PM   #3
Neil Khant

Profile:
Tom thanks for the response.
Being that they are scaled down I will start there and move up from there.

I have been reading as much as possible, even articles on the internet knocking the program.

I have made it a point to get as much information as possible and use my head to weed out the bull___t.

I know the shape I want to be in and I am hoping that this may help get me there.
Old 01-15-2006, 07:58 PM   #4