CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 09-17-2008, 08:32 AM   #1
Stephen R. Lampl

Profile:
Starting Strength vs. Getting Stronger

Anyone have any experience with Bill Pearl's book "Getting Stronger?" I wondered how it compares with "Starting Strength."

Thanks.
Old 09-17-2008, 12:07 PM   #2
Scott A Martin

Profile:
Re: Starting Strength vs. Getting Stronger

Starting Strength gives detailed instructions on performing the squat, deadlift, press, bench press and power clean. The second edition, I believe, talks about a few additional exercises. It then gives one basic program.

I have no experience with Getting Stronger, aside from just looking at its table of contents on Amazon. It seems like it involves a lot more exercises, including the use of machines. A lot less instruction for each exercise. And multiple programs.

If your goal is to get stronger, I don't think you'll find many programs that are more tried and true than Starting Strength.
Old 09-17-2008, 12:59 PM   #3
Frank E Morel

Profile:

Coach rip used getting stronger as the bases for Starting strength.

If you go the SS route your going to have a boat load of people that will be able to assist you on the programming and theory behind it as its reaching near cult status.
Old 09-17-2008, 10:31 PM   #4
Stephen R. Lampl

Profile:

Scott and Frank,

Thank you both for your information. I just want to ensure proper technique/form and only have experience with Getting Stronger. I've used that book as a reference for a number of years, with relative success - - until I got deconditioned.