CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Health and Medical Issues
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Health and Medical Issues For other than injuries

Old 09-05-2008, 07:14 PM   #1
Sarah Lewis

Profile:
Double-jointed problems?!

I have a client that I train and she has double-jointed elbows. I hadn't really thought anything of it until we got into some paralette and ring work and of course she can't really hold her arms locked out because, well they don't lock out.
Has anyone else run into this? I am relatively new to training others and have never run across someone with this particular issue before. Any suggestions?

thanks
Old 09-06-2008, 12:41 AM   #2
Justin Shipley

Profile:
Re: Double-jointed problems?!

No but i have two female clients who can perform dislocates with thumbs nearly touching on the broomhandle.....!
Old 09-11-2008, 10:20 AM   #3
Justin McGinley

Profile:

On a related note, my girl friend has "double-jointed" elbows as well. Ones that extend to about 100 degrees or so. Is this going to cause an issue with locking out for overhead squats?
Old 09-11-2008, 11:30 AM   #4
Matt DeMinico

Profile:

I bet the guy who busted his elbow doing a snatch in the olympics wished he had double-jointed elbows at that moment.
Old 09-12-2008, 09:29 AM   #5
Keith Stevens

Profile:

I don't really understand why she can't lock out her elbows. Because she is double jointed I would think they would just lock at a bit of a different angle. Most gymnasts appear to be double jointed(unless we're talking about something different) and they deffinitely lock out with their moves.
Maybe try and contact Roger Harrell or one of the other gymnastic coaches about it.
Good luck, let us know what you find out
Old 09-12-2008, 10:52 PM   #6
Blair Robert Lowe

Profile: