CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 07-12-2007, 05:36 PM   #1
Mike Groth

Profile:
I wasn't sure if I should post this under equipment since it really isn't for crossfit. But I would really like to get into doing some triathlons and need some help with buying my first bike. I dont have a clue what I should be looking for. I will probably start out doing some sprints and would like to work my way up to an Olympic Tri.

Im not really sure what size I should be looking at, what extra equipment I would need on the bike, and what the differences are between a Road bike and a Tri specific bike. I dont really want to spend an arm and a leg on my first bike since Im a beginner, but what price range would I be looking at for a decent beginner bike? Should I go for a used bike or shop around on Ebay? It seems the the prices from online stores are cheaper than my local Trek store.

Thanks in advance for any info you guys can share w/ me.

Mike
Old 07-12-2007, 06:16 PM   #2
Jay Cohen

Profile:
Mike;
Visit either some local bike stores, talk to some local Tri athletes or at least visit Tri websites. You'll get very limited feedback here, that is not to say that there aren't some CF'rs that do Tri's, it's just that bike talk won't come up much. Now, if you're talking Rings, garage gyms, pull up bars, well, we go on for hours about that stuff.
Old 07-12-2007, 06:25 PM   #3
David Wood

Profile:

. . . and your first instincts were correct . . . moving to "Equipment".
Old 07-12-2007, 07:28 PM   #4
Eugene R. Allen

Profile: