CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 06-18-2008, 06:44 AM   #1
Tres O Johnson

Profile:
Relatively new crossfitter taking a break. Some questions about the 'break'

Sort of crossposted from my workout log. But since no one reads that I thought it might be better to pose this question here.

After some analysis over the last week or so, I've come to the conclusion that I am overtrained (or under recovered). I say this because I haven't been "there" psychologically and it's because of being physcially exhausted BEFORE and AFTER I warm-up. At first I thought my lack of energy was due to my nutrition. But I've come to the conclusion that nutrition could not be the problem. Why? Well, I've been CrossFitting and zoning the way I've been zoning for two months and prior to the last 10 or so days I've been fine. If the diet was failing me then I think it would have happened sooner considering CrossFit's intensity level. It must be the fact that I haven't taken a single day off nor have I taken any half intensity cycles (I wasn't aware that people took them!)

Therefore, I will be taking sometime off, maybe about a week. It will give me time to try to figure out if I can afford two memberships to my local affiliate for my wife and I (which will have to be decided by Wednesday) as well as rest my CNS and mind.