CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 10-22-2006, 12:13 PM   #1
Nicholas Hahn

Profile:
I've been doing Crossfit for about 3 months now and my father would like to try it out. When he was a child he lost some functionallity in one leg due to polio. I don't know where he would start, since it seems like the most basic Crossfit excercise is squats. And almost every other olympic lift is centered around the legs. For the runs, I think he could sub rows. However, so many other key Crossfit excercises require use of legs, such as wall ball, burpees and the multitude of squats we do. He can walk just fine, however, it just seems like most other Crossfit exercises require the use of both legs, unless someone cat tell me they've actually done a one-legged clean or snatch.

This also seems like a pertinent post, since there are probably a lot of sailors, soldeirs, airmen, and marines comming back with no legs or limited use of legs due to IEDs, etc.

Does any one have any suggestions? I have just been wondering a while whether Crossfit is really scalable to everyone?
Old 10-22-2006, 06:26 PM   #2
Elliot Royce

Profile:
If you think about CF as a combination of metabolic, skills and strength conditioning, then there are lots of things he can do. You would just sub exercises that would not overtax his leg. Instead of push presses, regular presses, etc. For metabolic, I doubt the heart and endocrine systems care if the stimulus is coming from the legs or not. They are major muscles but he could do tons of pullups, dips, one legged jumps, etc. All the gymnastics sort of stuff.