CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 12-28-2007, 07:48 AM   #1
Gary Maholm

Profile:
Platform confusion?

I'm really confused about why people build platforms.

I'm new to all of this and I could certainly be missing something but what are some of the reasons that people are building them?

What are the benefits of having one other than the "gymly" look?

I have a pretty small space in my garage and the last thing i want is a big ol' platform that i have to heave around BUT, if its something necessary then perhaps i would be willing to fight with it a bit.

I mean, they look pretty cool and i reckon that it would be nice to show my friends; "check out my olympic platform..it rules the earth...", but I'm not sure what i could do on it that i cant on my garage floor.

thanks
Old 12-28-2007, 07:58 AM   #2
Rahsaan Kimbrow

Profile:
Re: Platform confusion?

dropping weights on concrete is not a good thing...... dropping expensive bumper plates on concrete is really not a good thing.......

seriously..... most people can get by with just a rubber mat.... but when you get into big poundages, solid footing and a barrier between the weight and the ground is a good thing....

plus they look cool
Old 12-28-2007, 08:01 AM   #3
Jay Cohen

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Maholm View Post
I'm really confused about why people build platforms.

I'm new to all of this and I could certainly be missing something but what are some of the reasons that people are building them?

What are the benefits of having one other than the "gymly" look?

I have a pretty small space in my garage and the last thing i want is a big ol' platform that i have to heave around BUT, if its something necessary then perhaps i would be willing to fight with it a bit.