CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 10-29-2007, 10:14 AM   #1
Jason Tanner

Profile:

Barbell Cert. ???

I am currently been crossfitting for two months now and hoping to get my crossfit certification level one soon but since I am a college student I do not have enough money to go out of state to get a certification level one yet. I however noticed that they are having a barbell certification in Atlanta nov.17-18 which I live just outside of. Even though I don't have my level one cert. yet would it still be good to get the barbell cert. I'm really straped for cash but I can afford to get the cert. I eventually want to open my own crossfit gym but I realize I'm going to have to go find a job being a personal trainer to save money to start one up. I am also studying for the pt exam right now. So long story short, is it worth it to get the barbell cert. when I know it won't be (6-12 months) till I may be able to get cert. level one and train people in crossfit and have my dream to open a crossfit gym..
Old 10-29-2007, 10:23 AM   #2
Jay Cohen

Profile:
Re: Barbell Cert. ???

Jason;
I'm a big fan of Certs/Workshops and continuing education. The BB cert focus's on DL, Bench, Squat and Power Clean, all important, thou not as CF oriented as would be an O-Lift Cert. If bucks are very tight, you might want to pass, though getting a chance to spend a weekend with Rip is always worth the price.
That cert is next on my list, just waiting for one to schedule for mid west or east coast.
Save your bucks for equipment and level 1 cert, unless your focus is going to be on more of a power lifting type CF, then by all means go.
Old 10-29-2007, 11:28 AM   #3
Jason Tanner

Profile: