CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 03-30-2007, 08:19 PM   #1
Brian Dolan

Profile:
Hi all, I'm a Firefighter looking to do something new to stay in shape and heard about crossfit...the more I heard, the better it sounded for my goals. Tomorrow is my first workout, and I don't have a lot of experience with Olympic style lifting...I'm going to do the Power clean workout tomorrow with an emphasis on form instead of weight...any suggestions on starting would be appreciated (but I have been reading the boards etc today).

Anyways, thanks and I'll be around.
Old 03-30-2007, 08:34 PM   #2
Jeff Dale

Profile:
Welcome Brian! Starting Strength is a great book to help you with lifting form and principles. Check out the form videos here: (w/f safe)
http://www.crossfit.com/cf-info/excercise.html

http://www.performancemenu.com/resou...ises/index.php

Practice form with an unweighted bar or pvc pipe to get the muscle memory down pat before trying to recruit all muscle fibers with added weight.
Practice, practice, practice.
Old 03-30-2007, 09:04 PM   #3
Ron Haskins

Profile:
Don't forget starting with the CFWU. for lots of people that's about all they can do just starting out. Even us firefighters unfortunately.
Old 03-31-2007, 05:16 AM   #4
Larry Lindenman

Profile: