CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Closed Thread

Old 07-23-2008, 11:32 AM   #1
Rob Lorenzini

Profile:
Studies to confirm/prove CrossFit efficacy

I have a background in science. I worked as a Microbiologist in a lab while in college, I have a graduate degree (MS) and for about 4 years after graduating from undergrad I worked in a lab doing studies etc… therefore I find empirical data very convincing.

In the Evidence based fitness lecture from CrossFit Journal 64 Coach Glassman discusses how CrossFit is “evidence based fitness”. In the lecture he also discusses a number of outstanding methods one could use to derive empirical data on how the CrossFit methodology is truly superior, he also discussed the anecdote about the Canadian military. The lecture is outstanding and very convincing. My question is where is the empirical data to prove his claims?

Personally my experience with CrossFit has been life changing; my fitness level is incredible right now, not to mention my blood chemistry profile…. I record all my workouts and have seen incredible improvement. But really this is a single case and anecdotal at best.

CrossFit is the best methodology I have used but frankly the anecdotal claims, before and after photos etc… are also out there for P90X, Body-For-Life and all kinds of other crap that one can find in the fitness industry.

Are there any published studies which are specific to the CrossFit methodology? Are there any papers or published documents discussing improvements that occurred between cohorts of individuals following different methods and following the CrossFit method? Is the anecdote about the Canadian military written up anywhere in detail?

Old 07-23-2008, 11:42 AM   #2
Anthony Bainbridge

Profile: