CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 06-02-2012, 09:34 AM   #1
Carl Amolat

Profile:
Easy Strength by Dan John

Recently I've been reading Easy Strength by Dan John and find it an enlightening read. As an Army officer I'm finding it to be sometimes an exercise in balance when one considers the fact that performing at high aerobic capacities (i.e. long runs are fairly popular in the military).

One training protocol in the book jumped out at me in particular:

Quote:
Russian full-contact karate master Andrey Kochergin cautions: “Run, definitely run! Run, but do not overload the heart, the maximal heart rate—no more that 120 BPM.” One of his protocols calls for running 10K twice a week maintaining the same heart rate at the finish as 10 minutes after the start—ideally, 120 BPM. (This is about two thirds of MHR for a 40-some-year-old Kochergin.) The other is an easy 2K every morning. I view easy running as an exercise in relaxation. Learn to turn into a rag doll on your jogs, and you will see a difference in your speed and sport-specific endurance.
I find that the passage above seems to dovetail rather neatly to my understanding of the POSE Method of running. The protocols described above seem to be the solution to the endurance and strength balance that seems to be a constant throughout the service. A strength program that could, ideally, be paired with this running protocol would be something along the lines of Power to the People with its heavy loads but low volume focusing on the CNS.

Just curious what others of the CrossFit community think of this particular book.

Last edited by Carl Amolat : 06-02-2012 at 09:44 AM.
Old 06-03-2012, 11:09 PM   #2
Kent Newland

Profile:
Re: Easy Strength by Dan John