CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 11-19-2007, 10:36 AM   #1
Stefan Borovina

Profile:
Any LEO Officers with a Law Degree?

I am in my third year of Law School and will be hopefully starting into a DA's office after I graduate/pass the bar. I am currently a Student ADA in the Queens County DA's Office Domestic Violence Bureau, and when I graduate I want to prosecute drug related crimes and other violent offenses. Recently however, I have had a growing interest in becoming a police officer. It is a tough decision, because after three years of law school, perhaps my talents would be put to better use in a DA's office.

I know there are alot of law enforcement officers here at Crossfit, and I was wondering if any have a law degree, knows a LEO who has one, or has an opinion about the idea.

Any opinions are helpful.
Old 11-19-2007, 12:35 PM   #2
Scott A Martin

Profile:
Re: Any LEO Officers with a Law Degree?

Stefan, I'm a lawyer but I've always wanted to be a cop. I was always told to do something more academic, more intellectual, etc. So I went to law school... I worked in a large NYC sweatshop law firm, hating every minute. I quit, moved away from the stress of NYC (no offense to NYC peeps!) and started my own practice. I'm MUCH happier, but I still think I'd probably be happier in law enforcement.

We're both in NY. You may know that the NY State Police test is coming up. I'm taking the exam to keep my options open. I feel like I'd be able to maintain a small part-time practice after getting out of the academy, which makes the possibility even more appealing.