CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 06-02-2007, 03:01 PM   #1
Howard Wilcox

Profile:
So, my wife was selling some home-made sea-glass jewelry at a home and garden show in DuPont, WA and I wondered over to the AnytimeFitness gym. It's definitely not a big box by any definition. I'm not good at size estimates (I should have asked) but I would say it was 40'x40' up to 50'x50'. Lots of machines (life fitness), lots of treadmills, ellipticals, and bikes and quite a few dumbbells. A fair number of plates (mostly for putting on the machines). There was one power-rack/squat-rack (hammer strength) and one bench.

I asked the lady how much the capital cost was and she said $250K. I almost fell out. The membership was $40/mth and she said they want to limit membership to 1500 people. I'm not sure how close they are to that right now since I didn't ask. There is also an 18mth contract.

Most crossfit affiliates can be extremely well stocked for 10% of that startup...and would probably be happy with 10% of that membership.

And that's not even considering the results.

I found the whole thing very interesting.

howard
Old 06-02-2007, 04:24 PM   #2
James Falkner

Profile:
1. Do you save much money in insurance if you have all "safe" (read: ineffective) machines like nautilus, etc?

2. Was this place independently owned? Did they take out a giant loan or is there a bigger corp. behind them?

3. Ain't it sad they can draw 1500 people :-/ with shiny stuff.. kinda like fishing with spinners :-)
Old 06-02-2007, 05:08 PM   #3
Howard Wilcox

Profile:
Hey James,