CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-01-2006, 09:13 PM   #1
Nicholas Richard Engen

Profile:
I am a male college student majoring in criminal justice hoping to be a cop in two years. My freshmen year of college I was concerned about being too small(I am 5foot 6 still but at the time was only 135 pounds) to be a cop so I started to lift weights. I am still the same height but am 145 pounds I max out on the bench at 210 and on the back squat I haven’t done a one rep max but I went to failure the other day with 12 reps of 225. Over winter break I was still concerned about being in better shape and I went to a personal trainer who told me about crossfit and set me up with a program that was less about bodybuilding and more about power lifting. I want to start doing crossfit but am worried about not putting on anymore weight or muscle mass. I was just wondering if there was anyone out there involved in law enforcement who could tell me if I should really be worried about putting on more weight and if I should use crossfit to do that and what type of diet to follow with crossfit.
Old 05-01-2006, 10:16 PM   #2
Eugene R. Allen

Profile:
Nicholas - lots of cops on this board. I work up in Pierce County Washington and have been a cop for 22 years. I'm a SWAT guy and the number two guy in the door behind a 5'6" 135 lb guy who is my shield man. He is the only guy on the team senior to me (on many teams seniority allows movement to the back of the line up, on this team the fight is for the front of the spear) and is one of the most dynamic people I know. He was a state champion wrestler in HS and is still amazingly fit and for such a small guy has a HUGE presence.