CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 11-11-2010, 10:46 PM   #1
Richard Pennington

Profile:
Which one to buy?

Since i am new to all of this and i have little to nothing i am looking at christmas as been a way to get some of the equipment i need. I cannot afford the affiliate yet. I was looking at asking my wife to get a kettelbell or two for me, what weight should i get to start off with? Are there big differences in them or will the wlmart variety work (not getting that danskin thing or the medicine ball/kettlebell combo)
Old 11-11-2010, 10:54 PM   #2
Ben Moore

Profile:
Re: Which one to buy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Pennington View Post
Since i am new to all of this and i have little to nothing i am looking at christmas as been a way to get some of the equipment i need. I cannot afford the affiliate yet. I was looking at asking my wife to get a kettelbell or two for me, what weight should i get to start off with? Are there big differences in them or will the wlmart variety work (not getting that danskin thing or the medicine ball/kettlebell combo)
You can find kettlebells for much less than the Walmart prices online.
Old 11-11-2010, 10:55 PM   #3
James Francis

Profile:

If you are getting KB's it depends on your strength...no one leaps right into a 2pood kb without knowing they can handle it. I'd recommend starting with Dumbells...since they can double as a KB therefore your usage isn't limited...and I'd probably say start around 20lb and get up to 50lb in 5lb increments...much more useful... if too expensive...