CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 05-14-2009, 12:42 PM   #1
Laurie Carver

Profile:
Does that CrossFit make women big?

I'm a CrossFit trainer in Seattle, and follow a Paleo/Zone diet. When I first started doing CrossFit 2 years ago I noticed myself looking a little "yoked". My back and shoulders were looking bigger and overall I was looking a lot less cut than I had been with my previous routine of interval training and body building.
I was a bit concerned, but stuck with it and about 8 months down the road I began leaning back out. My question is this....On a weekly basis I get female clients coming up to me saying that they are really concerned because they're getting bigger. Of course my first reaction is "how's your diet", but after following several women and observing I have seen that many of them are getting bigger.
Especially shoulders and back, but also legs.
Is there any different programming you could recommend for women?
Old 05-14-2009, 01:15 PM   #2
Jamie J. Skibicki

Profile:
Re: Does that CrossFit make women big?

They are adding muscle, and the problem with this is? If you don't want to, eat less.
Old 05-14-2009, 01:21 PM   #3
Kyle Redinger

Profile:
Post Re: Does that CrossFit make women big?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurie Carver View Post
I'm a CrossFit trainer in Seattle, and follow a Paleo/Zone diet. When I first started doing CrossFit 2 years ago I noticed myself looking a little "yoked". My back and shoulders were looking bigger and overall I was looking a lot less cut than I had been with my previous routine of interval training and body building.