CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 10-13-2008, 08:54 AM   #1
Kevin Green

Profile:
Paper on Crossfit Community

Before I start the thread, I figure a brief intro is in order. I have been doing Crossfit pretty regularly for the last 9 months. I am sold on the fact that my fitness level has improved more in the last 9 months than in any other period of my life, and all this at 36 years old. I am in the Air Force and am pursuing a degree in exercise science in hopes of opening a Crossfit affiliate when I retire. I will be going to Iraq in Feb 09 and the bright shining spot in the deployment is the fact that I will be able to attend a level one cert when I return.
My reason for starting this thread is that I am currently taking a class on American Pop Culture and need to write a ten page paper on a pop culture phenomenon. I have chosen the Crossfit community as my topic. Below is the actual paper requirements. I have also listed my basic outline. I thought the best way to get ideas would be to throw this out to the Crossfit family. My hope is to highlight this community, how the people of all different races, genders, etc. have come together for the common cause of fitness. What I am primarily asking for is if anyone has any references that can help solidify my main points. If anyone has any other angles to attack this assignment I would be interested. Any information would be greatly appreciated. I can write the paper on my own but honestly, what would a paper about the Crossfit community be without input from the subject of the paper having a part in its creation.

My assignment requirements: