CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2013, 10:48 PM   #1
John Bird
Member John Bird is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto  ON
Posts: 2
Box squat in a Rogue R3 rack?

I have never done a box squat before, but would like to start.

I see on YouTube the movement involves one step back to clear the hooks, then a sitting back movement. Then you push up and forward. I dont want to bang the front hooks or back posts as I am learning.

Is there enough room for this inside an R3 regular power rack 24" inside? (I am considering getting the R3 so I would like to ask.)

Thank you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 10:59 PM   #2
Robert Fabsik
Member Robert Fabsik is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kildeer  IL
Posts: 2,233
Re: Box squat in a Rogue R3 rack?

I don't have an R3, but my rack is 26" from the insides and I have no trouble box squatting inside there. You just won't have room to take 3 or 4 steps back. More like 1 setp out each foot, and then a little adjustment steps.

Ideally you'll have the bar moving around the exact middle of the cage.

Here's me box squatting a while back, and you see there is plenty of room. Ideally, I should probably sit back a tad more and plop less, but I also have room to move the box in more.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fV4t...oQwi1g&index=6

(WFS)
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 11:06 PM   #3
John Bird
Member John Bird is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto  ON
Posts: 2
Re: Box squat in a Rogue R3 rack?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Fabsik View Post
I don't have an R3, but my rack is 26" from the insides and I have no trouble box squatting inside there. You just won't have room to take 3 or 4 steps back. More like 1 setp out each foot, and then a little adjustment steps.

Ideally you'll have the bar moving around the exact middle of the cage.

Here's me box squatting a while back, and you see there is plenty of room. Ideally, I should probably sit back a tad more and plop less, but I also have room to move the box in more.

[url]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fV4tk_Yx_k&list=UUnola_VinKWGa8Q9noQwi1g& index=6[url]

(WFS)
Thanks for the fast reply - that was a good video to demonstrate. Congrats on the 350lb box squat, thats a lot.

I like the U2 Achtung Baby too, havent heard that in long time.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 07:28 AM   #4
Andy Kauth
Member Andy Kauth is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Maricopa  AZ
Posts: 151
Re: Box squat in a Rogue R3 rack?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Bird View Post

Is there enough room for this inside an R3 regular power rack 24" inside? (I am considering getting the R3 so I would like to ask.)

Thank you.
Easy. I learned to box squat at the affiliate I used to coach at--we had two "regular" R3s, which accommodated all sizes (from my 100-pound wife to guys who were over 6' and 250#s). I am 5'10"-ish and 180 pounds and have more than enough room--now have an R3 mounted to a platform in our garage.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 07:54 AM   #5
Joey Allen
Member Joey Allen is offline
 
Joey Allen's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sorrento  LA
Posts: 186
Re: Box squat in a Rogue R3 rack?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Bird View Post

Is there enough room for this inside an R3 regular power rack 24" inside? (I am considering getting the R3 so I would like to ask.)

Thank you.
Yep, I have an R3 and box squats are just fine. I really don't think people need more than an R3 unless 2 people are using the rack at the same time. Oh, and i LOVE my R3. Best purchase I've made for my gym (that, and stall mats).
__________________
M/33/5'7"/148lbs
My Garage Gym
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sorinex Squat Rack (Falcon Rack) and Pulling Blocks in Louisville, Ky Chad Chisholm Equipment 0 02-26-2012 07:31 AM
New CrossFit Box Baton Rouge! Carlos Himpler In Search of CrossFitters 2 03-10-2010 07:28 AM
Homemade squat rack vs Powerline squat rack Blair Robert Lowe Equipment 6 05-05-2009 01:57 PM
Open Rack Squat Rack Casey Gilvin Equipment 9 03-05-2008 07:59 AM
Power Rack vs Squat Rack Rick Williams Equipment 4 02-25-2006 07:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit Inc.