CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 10-05-2009, 02:26 AM   #1
Adam Carlson

Profile:
Freakishly frustrated coach

Hey all, how do you sell your program to people? I've been working at my school for 6 years now, and they just created a strength and conditioning coaching position for me. The athletic director, athletic coordinator, and junior varsity tennis coach all believe in the program and have committed to it. The other coaches, not so much. My school has not had much emphasis on training and conditioning in sports, and I'm trying to sell the idea to people. The people who are somewhat sold on it still want the old-fashioned-bodybuilding-lots-of-machines type routine for their kids. Olympic lifting for volleyball players? Yeah right, nothing a little leg press machine calf raises won't cure. Pull ups? Why pull ups? Forget that kipping is a natural, functional movement that the girls do in the air when they spike, we want strict lat pull downs and triceps push downs.

I'm getting pretty frustrated, but don't want to come across as cocky or know-it-all. How do you sell your programs? I just want my own box someday where people who actually want to train will be there...
Old 10-05-2009, 03:07 AM   #2
Peter Terry Haas

Profile:
Re: Freakishly frustrated coach

Meet with them and try to get on the same page. Reassure them that you are trying to make their job easier, by turning their players into better athletes. Ask them what their opinions are on team/player weaknesses, and possibly outline how you plan to address these. Get on the same page so the sport coach knows (roughly) what is going on and why.

And above all, walk the walk. Making demonstrably better athletes is the best way to sell the training benefit.