CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 03-23-2005, 11:56 AM   #1
Jay Ashman

Profile:
I am in the process of a career change/life change. And I want your opinions on it, since this would be the proper forum to express this.

I am a Union Electrician as we speak, but I am going to turn in my ticket to go back to college for kinesiology. I am not happy at all with the Elec. business, it doesn't fit me and I dread going to work everyday. I've always wanted to get involved in personal training but was too hesitant to do it because of the fear of change factor.

I have a vast knowledge already about lifting, nutrition, supplementation and prehab from my years of athletics, lifting and reading. I am also 30 years old and the time is now for a change like this.

I will not lie, it is frightening to make a change like this so dramatically, but I believe that I can be a success at this and actually be able to wake up and enjoy going to work rather than dread it.

What are your opinions on this, and what advice can you give me to help me along the way?

I am going to make this change within the next two weeks. I bartend 3 nights a week right now, bounce 2 and I still collect my unemployment check for the next 2 months so it wouldn't really be a problem money wise right now.

I know it is a lucrative, rewarding and fulfilling career field and I want to be a part of making someone be the best they can be.
Old 03-23-2005, 12:12 PM   #2
Beth Moscov

Profile:
Go for it Jay. I have changed careers a few times in my life - always "following my bliss" as Joseph Campbell phrased it. I was telling my son the other day that getting a good job is important as an adult but if you can get a good job and love your work too, that is really success!