CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Testimonials
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Testimonials CrossFit's successes / your achievements

Old 10-12-2005, 06:14 PM   #1
Adrian Bozman

Profile:
First a bit of background:

I've been crossfitting officially for about 8 months although much of my training prior was heading in a similar direction. I started working my body in an attempt to gear up for a move to San Francisco to attend the circus school here. I refused to accept that one could not get stronger, faster, more flexible and better at everything all at once (much to the chagrin of people I talked to regarding training and especially training for a specific sport).

Fast forward about 3-4 years. My priorities changed (the circus school came and went, but that's another story), but my ideals regarding performance did not. Crossfit is one of the only things I've come across that got me truly excited when I found it ('what is fitness' continues to be my top recommendation to anyone who asks my opinion about improving performance) and continues to resonate as the initial successes of a new program fade.

Anyway I started Krav Maga a few months back because it looked like fun and I thought it would be something valuable that my wife could get into as well (she's ended up being more dedicated to Krav than I am).

We took our first level test on Saturday. This consisted of a 3.5 hour 'workshop', which was intentionally designed to wear us out mentally and physically, a 10 minute break, and then the 1.5 hour test. I'd heard from several people that conserving yourself in the workshop was a good idea due to the length of the test. Well I hate holding back, especially in something like Krav Maga where aggression and intent are so important, so I didn't. Thanks to Crossfit, I felt I maintained a great power output and never had to 'tone it down' throughout the entire 5 hour span.