CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 04-23-2010, 02:35 AM   #1
Igalts Tsirulnik

Profile:
How to avoid yesterday's main page published powerlifting error?

Hi guys,
I'm new to power lifting, but I took a couple of hours of private coaching to learn the basic techniques and now I'm practicing my skills for a while, using low weight before I'll start adding more.

The thing is - the coach told me I use my biceps instead of hips and and the power generated from the 'shrug' whenever I clean or snatch.
any advice on how to avoid that (without taking more private coaching)?
Old 04-23-2010, 03:56 AM   #2
Blair Robert Lowe

Profile:
Re: How to avoid yesterday's main page published powerlifting error?

Just a thought...grip the bar light enough to not squeeze the life out of it but hard enough so it doesn't fall out of your grip. Perhaps you are trying to muscle it engaging your biceps to pull it rather than just shrugging your shoulders with the hip extension.

Remember the cue, " arms like ropes. "

You can either drill the Snatch via the Burgener WU with PVC or you can even do it without a piece of PVC.

I have an idea to maybe use a piece of rope. Hmm...
Old 04-23-2010, 05:12 AM   #3
Ray Ambury

Profile:

Best thing is probably to video yourself doing it and upload that. Since you said power lifting I'm assuming it's also power cleans and snatches rather than squat cleans and snatches?

Blair, I've not heard that arms like ropes thing before. I had a quick scout around the internet but didn't see anything on it and I'm just trying to get my head around what exactly it means. Cleans are something I really want to improve (and snatches but more concerned about cleans).